Department of Education Tanauan City 

About Us



The cityhood of Tanauan was then a vision that has been realized. This vision was born sometime in October 1996 during a special training participated by then municipal officials headed by the late Hon. Mayor Cesar V. Platon. The local administrators felt that the time had come to convert Tanauan into a city.


On March 10, 2001, Republic Act 9005 “An Act Converting the Municipality of Tanauan, Province of Batangas into a Component City to be known as the City of Tanauan” was finally passed by the House of Representatives and by the Senate on December 19, 2000. Finally, on February 2, 2001, Her Excellency Gloria Macapagal Arroyo signed into law under Republic Act 9005, the cityhood of Tanauan, the first city that she approved under her term. A massive and sustained campaign for the total support from the entire constituency followed and the final seal of cityhood of Tanauan was stamped by the Commission on Elections (COMELEC) on March 10, 2001.


Source: Official website of Tanauan City, Batangas:

  • Article 8 Sec. 49 of Republic Act 9005 states the establishment and maintenance of a schools division of the City of Tanauan.


  • Salient dates that marked the making of DepEdTanauan City:


  • February 4, 2003, Dr. Elenita B. Bathan was designated as the Officer – In – Charge of the interim division of Tanauan City; memorandum signed by then DepEd Secretary Edilberto C. De Jesus.
  • March 5, 2003, DepEdTanauan City became an interim city division of DepEdBatangas Province.
  • February 27, 2003, Mrs. Emma A. Bautista, the SDS of Batangas Province, designated the subject and district coordinators, other officers, medical and dental staff.
  • March 2003 the DepEdTanauan City logo was designed by Mrs. Agapita A. Nery.​
  • April 2003 - founding of the four (4) districts of DepEdTanauan City; Tanauan City North, Tanauan City East, Tanauan City West and Tanauan City South.
  • July 2003 -  Separation of Tanauan City’s payroll DepEdBatangas Province.
  • August 5, 2003- Mayor Corona endorsed to DepEd Sec. Hon. De Jesus the Resolution 0/151 of the Sangguniang Panlunsod of the City of Tanauan requesting the authority for the creation of an independent city school division in the City of Tanauan.
  • September 13, 2004 – The appointment of three (3) District Supervisors.
  • June 2005 – Start of operation of Tanauan City High School, the 12th government high school in the city began its operation at Governor Modesto Cultural Center.
  • September 22, 2005 -  the BIRTH of DepEdTanauan City as regular schools division was signed by USEC/OIC Fe Hidalgo.
  • January 13, 2006 -  Division Subject Coordinators were appointed Education Supervisors.
  • March 23, 2006 - DepEdTanauan City became a regular city schools division. Dr. Bathan became the first SDS of the Division of Tanauan City.
  • June 2, 2006 - Tanauan City High School transferred to its present site at Trapiche.
  • February 2007 - Appointment of the two (2) Public Health Nurse, non-teaching personnel were appointed.
  • March 2003 the DepEdTanauan City logo was designed by Mrs. Agapita A. Nery.